About us


ESSARTER [esaʀte]

meaning to strip clear and liberate a space,
re-establish a terrain, to make accessible
an unexplored area.

Editorial policy

ESSARTER Éditions is an association specialised in photo-documentary books. Its creation was born from the meeting between Mathilde Vaveau, photographer, and Lou Reichling, graphic-designer. Paul de Lanzac, photographer, joined them a few months later. Based on their common interests - books, documentary photography and literature - and their complementary skills, their main objective is to create books where texts and images meet and sometimes confront each other.

Collectively and without distinction, we are working with scholars, photojournalists, amateurs, academics, inhabitants, tourists, experts, and neophytes.

It is through the printed book that we wish to record our society: the book is both a literary and a visual essay. Between the documentary, which offers visibility on selected facts in images, and the fiction, which tells stories through words, our books offer to curious readers new and original literary experiences.

Our books address some of the major societal, political, and historical issues by looking closely at borders, conflicts, migrations, and cultural belonging.
How and why should history be made a modular object?
How does popular heroism construct official history?
How can we understand today’s inequalities through the revolts of the past?
Why is it necessary to talk about borders, exile, and migrations today?
Why is it important to think about the memory of the landscape and man’s imprint on it?

“ESSARTER” means to clear away the undergrowth, to clear a piece of land to open a field, a fresh and unexplored area. Each new project is the meeting of authors, who have infiltrated moving terrains, outside the lines drawn by the giants. They all investigate drifting places, searching, cutting, cropping, sorting out information, with their experiences, their past, and their knowledge.

CONTACT US


Paul de Lanzac
 Press relations

Lou Reichling
 Order & distribution

Mathilde Vaveau
 Authors relations


Follow us

imageimage


Newsletter


Soutien

ESSARTER Éditions benefits from the support of Région Centre-Val de Loire, the State (DRAC Centre-Val de Loire) and Ciclic Centre-Val de Loire.

image

Support us

À propos


ESSARTER

veut dire débroussailler, défricher, déblayer un terrain afin d’y ouvrir un champ libre, une zone fraîche et inexplorée.

Ligne éditoriale

ESSARTER Éditions est une structure associative, spécialisée dans l’édition photo-documentaire. Sa création naît de la rencontre entre Mathilde Vaveau, photographe et Lou Reichling, graphiste. Elles sont rejointes par Paul de Lanzac, photographe. Autour de leurs intérêts communs, le livre, la photographie documentaire et la littérature, et de leurs savoir-faire complémentaires. Ils se donnent comme principal objectif de créer des livres où se rencontrent et parfois se confrontent des textes et des images.

Nous travaillons collectivement et sans distinction avec des universitaires, des photojournalistes, des amateurs, des érudits, des habitants, des touristes, des experts et des néophytes.

C’est à travers le livre imprimé que nous souhaitons enregistrer notre société : il est à la fois essai littéraire et essai visuel. Entre le documentaire qui offre une visibilité sur des faits choisis en images, et la fiction qui conte des histoires par les mots, nos livres proposent aux lecteurs curieux des expériences littéraires nouvelles et originales.

Nos livres abordent certaines grandes questions sociétales, politiques et historiques en s’intéressant de près aux frontières, aux conflits, aux migrations et aux appartenances culturelles. Comment et pourquoi faire de l’Histoire un objet modulable ? Comment l’héroïsme populaire construit l’histoire officielle ? Comment comprendre les inégalités d’aujourd’hui à travers les révoltes du passé ? Pourquoi parler de frontières, d’exil et de migrations ? Pourquoi est-ce important de réfléchir à la mémoire du paysage et de l’empreinte de l’homme dans celui-ci ?

CONTACTEZ-NOUS


→ Paul de Lanzac
 Relation presse

→ Lou Reichling
 Commande & diffusion

→ Mathilde Vaveau
 Relation auteurs


Suivez-nous

imageimage


Newsletter


Soutien

ESSARTER Éditions bénéficie du soutien de la Région Centre-Val de Loire, de l’État (DRAC Centre-Val de Loire) et de Ciclic Centre-Val de Loire.

image

SOUTENEZ-NOUS